Accord LMS DocumentationLMS Admin Guide RolesCreating and Managing Learning Roles

Creating and Managing Learning Roles

Learning Roles are utilized to efficiently segment and distribute specific types of Learning Content to specific types of Learners; whether these Learners be groups of Learners or individual Learners. 

By using the Accord LMS Roles feature you can create and manage specific Learning Roles.

Learners are then assigned to these Roles which then grants them access to the specific Learning Content associated with these Roles.

To Create or Manage Learning Roles;

  • Ensure the proper Active Team is selected; should there be more than one Active Team.
  • Click on the LMS Admin tab.
  • Click on the Roles tab.

Please note; any Roles maintaining any specific Rules for Membership will display a green check under the Rules column.

Definition and Usage of Role Groups

A Role Group is a larger group utilized to segment any subordinate Learning Roles.

For example, should you have a number of Learning Roles such as a Trigonometry Role, a Calculus Role and a Geometry Role, these specific types of Learning Roles might be further contained within a Mathematics Role Group.  

Any individual Learning Role must always be contained within a larger Role Group.

At a very minimum, any newly supplied Accord LMS will always come supplied with a default Role Group called 'Global Roles' which any Learning Role may be segmented under immediately without requiring the creation of another Role Group. 

Should you choose to create a new Role Group;

  • Click Add New Group.

When page refreshes:

  • Enter a Group Name for the Role Group.
  • Enter an optional Description.
  • Click Update to create the new Role Group.

Information Icons: Hovering mouse over information icons will display helpful tips.

Modify an Existing Role Group

  • Ensure the proper Active Team has been selected.
  • Select the desired Group from the Filter by Role Group dropdown list.  

Any Role Groups which display on this dropdown list will always be determined by the selected Active Team

After selecting a listed Role Group from the menu, the page will refresh which displays it's available subordinate Learning Roles.

  • Click the Edit (pencil icon) next to the Filter by Role Group dropdown menu in order to edit a specific Role Group.
  • When page refreshes, make any modifications.
  • Click Update at bottom to save changes.

Add a New Learning Role

This feature allows you to create Add a New Role under their larger associated Role Group.

  • Ensure the proper Active Team is selected.
  • Click Add New Role.

As shown below, when the page refreshes you will see the various options for entering the informational details for your New Role.

Learning Role Informational Details

GENERAL SETTINGS TAB

Information Icons: Hovering mouse over information icons will display helpful tips.

  • Role Name: Type in a name for the Role.
  • Description: (Optional) Enter a summary description for the Role.
  • Role Group Name: Using the associated dropdown list, select a parent Role Group for the new learning Role. Groups displaying on this dropdown list are determined by the selected Active Team.
  • Include Social Group: Include Social Groups if you want to provide Role members with their own Social Group. When checking box for Include Social Group, it places the Role into a Mixed Mode. Leaving the box unchecked places the Role under Security Mode.
  • LE Tracking Options: Using the associated dropdown list, select what Report Filters should have any Attempts recorded by default.

Track All Attempts: Will track all attempts.

Track All Attempts until Completed: Will track all attempts until any assigned Learning Elements (LE) are completed.

  • Delete: Clicking delete with delete this Role.
  • Members: Click Refresh to reset any associated members with any updated Role details.
  • Expire: Click to immediately expire this Role. 
    Role may be reactivated by resetting any desired dates and clicking Update. (See Dates below.)

Click Update to save any changes.

DATES TAB

Information Icons: Hovering mouse over information icons will display helpful tips.

Before Start Date Options: Select whether or not a given Learning Element will be allowed to launch before a designated Start Date or if tracking options will apply between an Activation Date and a Start Date.

Use the associated dropdown menu to select from;

  • LE are not allowed to launch
  • LE are allowed to launch but without Tracking
  • LE are allowed to launch with Tracking

(LE are Learning Elements)

After Due Date Options: Select whether or not a given Learning Element will be allowed to launch after a designated Due Date or if tracking options will apply.

Using the associated dropdown menu to select from;

  • LE are not allowed to launch
  • LE are allowed to launch but without Tracking
  • LE are allowed to launch with Tracking
  • Show Role Activation and Expiration: Check box to allow Learners to know the Role Activation Date and Expiration Date.
  • Start Date: Enter a Start Date.
  • Start Time: Click clock icon to enter a specific start time.
  • Due Date: Enter a Due Date.
  • Due Date Time: Click clock icon to enter a specific due time.

Members 

Refresh: Click Refresh to reset any associated members' dates.

Expire: Click to immediately expire this Role. 

Role may be reactivated by resetting any desired dates and clicking Update.

Click Update to save any changes.

Delete: Clicking delete with delete this Role.

RENEWAL TAB

Information Icons: Hovering mouse over information icons will display helpful tips.

Renew From: Use the associated dropdown menu to select from;

  • Non Renewal: Role will not renew.
  • Activation Date: Role will renew upon Activation Date.
  • Start Date: Role will renew upon Start Date.
  • Due Date: Role will renew upon Due Date.
  • Expiration Date: Role will renew upon Expiration Date.
  • Delete: Clicking delete with delete this Role.

Members 

Refresh: Click Refresh to reset your parameters for renewal.

Expire: Click to immediately expire this Role. 

Role may be reactivated by resetting dates and clicking Update.

Click Update to save any changes.

Delete: Clicking delete with delete this Role.